THE DOMAIN

Etude de Chopin de Coline-Marie Orliac

The property Labastide Orliac is located on the first hillsides bordering the river Garonne in the heart of the wine appellations of South West France between the vineyards of Bordeaux in the north, Cahors in the east and Madiran in the southwest. 

Terroir

C'est cette terre qui a produit les vins servis à la table de la cour du roi Louis XVI

Labastide Orliac is located on the right bank of the Garonne where geological layers rich in limestone and clay are found, similar to Pommerol and Saint Emilion. This special terroir makes the richness of these wines.

 

The limestone gives finesse and minerality to the wine; it requires that the water and the roots of the vine cross flow through the chalk to reach the clays of the lower layers, where the water needed for its equilibrium is sourced. 

 

Water management becomes an essential part of this viticulture. It is in this rare equilibrium that the grapes will find their particular flavour, and give their typicity so unique to the wine of Labastide Orliac.  

 
encepagementdef.jpg

Du terroir découle la localisation des cépages

 

Grape Varieties

Cabernet sauvignon (about 5pc), the third grape variety, is planted facing south on a very calcareous soil at the top of the driest slopes. This is the optimal condition to obtain the maturity of the grapes. 

Tannat plants (10pc), a famous grape of the Pyrenees and Madiran, are oriented to the south, but planted at the bottom of the hillside to obtain the best possible hydration from runoff water that will recall their mountaineous origin. The tannat structures the wine and gives it a particular dark colour. 

As for the Abouriou (15pc), this vine dating from he XVIII century, is a survivor of the phylloxera; a plant was miraculously found in the 1940’s and an area of one-and-a-half hectares has been planted from multiple grafting of the grapes. 

Modernization of operating methods 

In recent years, the Estate has modified its methods of exploitation to better take into account the challenges related to biodiversity, land depletion and global warming. 

Thus, we planted rows of trees and shrubs between the vines that will retain the water flowing down from the hillside, promoting a natural biodiversity. As a result, an animal fauna has become established which attacks the pests of the vine. For example, bats eat worms that cause botrytis rot. 

We have also started a process on soil cultivation aimed at eliminating weed killers, especially with the development for the harvest of new robots with artificial intelligence, and paradoxically the return of the use of the horse in the vines.

 

The wines of Domaine Labastide-Orliac consist of a blend of 5 grape varieties (Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Tannat, Abouriou). 

 Merlots and Cabernets Franc dominate the blend (about 70pc). They are planted in a north orientation to grow in the coolest temperatures possible. 

 
IMGP2429lite
press to zoom
Isabelle-plante-large-web
press to zoom
labastide-orliac-1150590
press to zoom
tracteur-02
press to zoom
16Oct14-lite
press to zoom
chateau-orliac03-BD-
press to zoom
1/1
Rose
press to zoom
terre
press to zoom
Vue-LABASTIDE2
press to zoom
Vue-LABASTIDE
press to zoom
chateau-orliac04BD-
press to zoom
IMG_1246
press to zoom
FullSizeRender (3)
press to zoom
village-etvignes
press to zoom
pot-fleur-tracteur-large
press to zoom
1/1
FullSizeRender (3)
press to zoom
008-1
press to zoom
P1130097
press to zoom
P1130113
press to zoom
P1150476
press to zoom
P1150462
press to zoom
1/2
vigne01-u4665
press to zoom
P1150618
press to zoom
P1130113
press to zoom
034
press to zoom
Deux seurs en aquataine fMFA
press to zoom
IMG_2523-1
press to zoom
1/2
Etude - Unknown Artist
00:00 / 00:00

LE DOMAINE

Etude de Chopin de Coline-Marie Orliac

La propriété Labastide Orliac se situe sur les premiers coteaux qui bordent le fleuve Garonne au cœur des appellations du Sud-Ouest de la France entre les vignobles de Bordeaux au nord, de Cahors à l’est et de Madiran au sud-ouest.

Le terroir

C'est cette terre qui a produit les vins servis à la table de la cour du roi Louis XVI

Labastide Orliac se situe sur la rive droite de la Garonne où l’on retrouve des couches géologiques riches en calcaire et argile, comme à Pomerol et à Saint-Émilion. Ce terroir si particulier fait la richesse de ces vins.
 
Les calcaires vont donner de la  finesse et de la minéralité au vin , ils nécessitent que l’eau et les racines de la vigne les traversent pour atteindre les argiles des couches inférieures qui apporteront à la vigne son équilibre en eau . La gestion de l’eau devient un élément essentiel pour cette viticulture.
 
C’est dans ce rare équilibre que les raisins trouveront leur saveur si particulière, et donnerons leur typicité si unique au vin de  Labastide  Orliac.
 

Du terroir découle la localisation des cépages

 

Les cépages

Troisième cépage, le cabernet sauvignon (environ 5pc) sont plantés plein sud sur sol très calcaire au sommet de coteaux les plus secs et les plus arides . C’est la condition optimale pour obtenir la maturité des raisins. 

Les pieds de tannat (10pc), célèbre cépage des Pyrénées et de Madiran sont orientés au sud , mais plantés en bas de côteau pour obtenir la meilleure hydratation possible des eaux de ruissellement qui rappellera leur origine montagneuse. Le tannat structure le vins et lui donne une sombre couleur particulière.

Quant à l’abouriou (15pc), ce cépage du XVIII  siècle,  rescapé du phylloxera dont on a miraculeusement retrouvé un pied dans les années quarante, Labastide Orliac en a planté un hectare et demi par multiplication des greffons. 

Modernisation

des méthodes d'exploitation

Au cours des dernières années, le domaine a modifié ses méthodes d’exploitation afin de mieux prendre en compte les défis liés à la biodiversité, à l’appauvrissement des terres et au réchauffement climatique.

Ainsi, nous avons planté des rangées d’arbres et d’arbustes au milieu des vignes qui retiendront l’eau dévalant de nos coteaux, favorisant une biodiversité naturelle.

Ainsi vient s’installer une faune animale qui s’attaque aux nuisibles de la vigne.

        - Par exemple les chauves- souris qui mangent le vers qui provoque une pourriture de  la grappe (botrytis) . 

Nous avons aussi engagé un processus sur le travail des sols visant à éliminer les désherbants, notamment avec la mise au point pour les vendanges de nouveaux robots à intelligence artificielle, et paradoxalement le retour du cheval dans les rangs de vigne.

 

Les vins du Domaine Labastide Orliac sont constitués d’un assemblage de 5 cépages (merlot, cabernet-franc, cabernet sauvignon, tannat, abouriou) 

Les merlots et les cabernets franc dominent l’assemblage (environ 70pc). Ils sont plantés dans une orientation au nord pour se développer dans les températures les plus fraîches possible.

 

1/1

1/1

1/2

1/2
Etude - Unknown Artist
00:00 / 00:00
Informations

Aide en ligne

Boutique

Visitez nos chais

contact : 06 08 69 02 27

©2018 by JG Tordjman

  • Gazouillement